Sometimes I Fly... - Live in Bremen 2001

Live in Bremen 2001


01. Diamond Mountain
02. Don't Be So Hard On Yourself
03. Ciara
04. Holy Ground
05. Gone to Pablo
06. Rainbow Day
07. Perfect Groove
08. Rescue Mission
09. You Couldn't Have Come At A Better Time
10. As I Waved Goodbye
11. Love Is A Place I Dream Of
12. Gabriel
13. Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends
14. Delirious

Mastered and edited by Brian Masterson at Soundscape, Dublin

Recorded on December 2nd, 2001, at Radio Bremen Sendesaal
Bremen/Germany by Radio Bremen

Recording Producer: Arne Schumacher
Recording Engineer: Klaus Schumann
Recording Technicians: Frank Jajobsen & Christoph Romanowski
Concert Production: Volker Steppat
Concert Arrangement under the guidance of Sabine Bachmann & Bernd Skibbe, Skip Records

Artwork by Sascha Osterland
Cover Photo by Amelia Stein
Booklet Cover Photo by Lieve Boussauw

All Songs written and composed by Luka Bloom (IMRO/MCPS Ireland)
except 'Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends' by Kris Kristoffersson.

Thank you MIG for inviting me to complete this live recording.
Thank you Skip Records for bringing me to Radio Bremen for this concert in 2001.
Thank you to all the crew who worked on the show, expecially Frank Jacobsen.
Thank you Karsten Jahnke for bringing me back to Germany again and again.
And thank you Germany for being such an open, creative country.
- Luka Bloom

© 26/10/2018 MIG Music GmbH - licensed by Radio Bremen - MIG 02102 CD

Album Review by DAI JEFFRIES // www.folking.com

This album was recorded by Radio Bremen in 2001. Luka Bloom is big in Germany; he’s big in Ireland naturally but for some unfathomable reason he isn’t really big in the UK. Sometimes I Fly... is his second live album and was probably recorded about the same time as the first, given that they have several songs in common.

Most of the songs come out of Luka’s early days beginning with the anthemic ’Diamond Mountain’ from the album Turf. Instead of pressing on in the same vein he follows that with the gentle, moody ’Don’t Be So Hard On Yourself’ and by the time he’s finished ’Ciara’ he has the audience eating out of his hand. That may have something to do with the guitar break he plays but they even applaud the little sigh he lets out before moving on.

For my money, there are three absolute classic Luka Bloom songs in this set. The first of these is ’Gone To Pablo’, a seemingly simple song which deceives us into following the narrative we imagine before the twist comes in the reveal. Next is Luka’s greatest hit, ’You Couldn’t Have Come At A Better Time’, a song with a chorus that everyone can sing along with but which hides a world of pain for its two protagonists. Thirdly comes ’As I Waved Goodbye’ about the Dalai Lama’s exile from Tibet - what a masterpiece.

That’s not to diss any of the other songs: ’Holy Ground’ and ’Perfect Groove’ top the list of those I haven’t mentioned yet. Luka has a penchant for performing covers and here we have Kris Kristofferson’s ’Please Don’t Tell Me How This Story Ends’ which blends well with his more romantic songs.

Treaty Stone In Groningen No Heroes Luka Bloom Riverside The Acoustic Motorbike Turf Salty Heaven Keeper Of The Flame The Barry Moore Years Between The Mountain Amsterdam Before Sleep Comes Innocence
Tribe The Man Is Alive Eleven Songs Dreams In America This New Morning Head And Heart Frugalisto Refuge Sometimes I Fly Live at De Roma Bittersweet Crimson

© Rena Bergholz - Luka Bloom Page